November 9, 2022 Press Releases

Voters Want Comprehensive Action To Keep Our Communities Safe

Results reflect voters’ understanding of the complex causes of violence and rejection of harmful, antiquated tactics 

79 Alliance-backed candidates are on track to win

SEATTLE, WA – Gun violence and community safety consistently ranked among voters’ top concerns throughout the 2022 campaign season and Washington voters proved that they want leaders who will take a comprehensive public health approach to the gun violence epidemic while tackling its root causes. Initial election results show that at least 79 out of 94 Alliance for Gun Responsibility Victory Fund-endorsed candidates have won their seats. 

These results came the same day that a student was shot and killed at Ingraham High School in North Seattle in yet another act of senseless violence. They also come as our region continues to experience record levels of gun violence. Statewide, gun deaths and injuries have already surpassed 2021 totals. In King County, the total number of shooting incidents in the first three quarters of the year was up 20 percent compared to 2021. Most of these shootings do not make the news.

Voters responded to this persistent gun violence by casting their ballots for candidates who pledged to take a comprehensive, upstream approach to addressing the epidemic. In King County, voters have backed Leesa Manion who built her career and campaign on restorative justice and comprehensive action to prevent gun violence. Across the state, voters returned gun responsibility champions to the legislature including Sen. John Lovick and Reps. April Berg and Brandy Donaghy in the 44th legislative district, Rep. Claire Wilson (D-30), Rep. Mari Leavitt (D-28), and Rep. Steve Tharinger (D-24). And voters elected new class of gun responsibility champions with Julio Cortes (D-38), Mary Fosse (D-38), Darya Farivar (D46), Chris Stearns (D-47), Julia Reed (D-36), and Emily Alvarado (D-34).  

At the federal level, candidates were rewarded for their support for the Bipartisan Safer Communities Act, the first federal action on gun safety in nearly three decades. Voters re-elected Sen. Patty Murray and Reps. DelBene, Larsen, Kilmer, Jayapal, Schrier, Smith, and Strickland, all of whom supported the Safer Communities Act. 

In response to initial election results, Alliance for Gun Responsibility CEO, Renée Hopkins, issued the following statement: 

We’re proud that voters remained steadfast in their support for candidates who understand the urgency and the complexity of keeping our communities safe. Up and down the ballot, voters once again elected gun responsibility champions. These results reflect voters’ preference for a public health approach to public safety–one that tackles the root causes of violence. 

Yesterday’s shooting at Ingraham High School, which killed one student, brought a painful reminder of how much work there is ahead. The fight does not end with these elections. We are committed to holding our newly-elected and well-established leaders accountable and working with them to create the safer future we all deserve.

A full list of Alliance for Gun Responsibility Victory Fund endorsements can be found here